Forty Days! A different kind of blog post.

 

“And He said to them, “Come aside by yourselves to a deserted place and rest a while.” For there were many coming and going, and they did not even have time to eat.”
‭‭Mark‬ ‭6:31‬ ‭NKJV‬
  • Genesis 7:4 states, It rained for “forty days and forty nights” during the Flood
  • In Exodus 24:18 we find, that Moses stays on Mount Sinai for “forty days and nights.”
  • The Israelites took “forty days” to spy out Canaan as stated in Numbers 13:25
  • We find in Samuel 17:16, that David came to slay Goliath “forty days” after he had been taunting the Israelites.
  • Matthew 4:2, Mark 1:13, and Luke 4:2 tell us, Jesus fasted for “forty days and forty nights” in the desert before he was tempted by Satan.
  • Acts 1:3 points out, that there was a “forty-day” period from the resurrection of Jesus to His ascension.

 

 

We are not called to search for secret codes or hidden meanings behind numbers used in the Bible. We are called to seek out the truth that the Bible provides. It is interesting, however, that certain repeating numbers are referenced in relation to events, circumstances, judgments, and even prophecy. It would be an interesting study as it seems that there is something to it, a curious thing. Again, I know we’re not to get all caught up in seeking out some hidden meaning by studying how numbers are used throughout the Bible and get thrown off track from the truth before us. Still,

All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.” 2 timothy 3:16,17 NKJV.

 

All that to say, my husband and I felt that we were being called out of the busyness of factory life and ministry for a “forty-day” experience. Why “forty days?” At first, the thought felt a little out there. Could God really be calling us out? That seems to go against all “good sense.” We prayed long and hard about it. Even once we were in agreement with the idea, we changed the date as to when it should start. Did it have to be a full “forty days?” What would we do during that “forty days?” Again, why “forty days?” It seems as though each of the above described “forty-day” events had led to a sort of revelation of spiritual truth that each person or people experiencing it didn’t understand or see yet. Not that there was any new truth, just a new understanding. July 15, 2022, was the beginning of our forty days.

 

We had been called out from our daily lives walking away from the safety and financial security of our jobs. We have been working in a factory for years. There were many ups and downs working there. More downs than ups. Oh, but the ups! Towards the end, we were sharing Jesus with so many! With the world in the state, it is, it had become so easy. People are starving for more: More truth, more love, more compassion, more fulfillment, and more purpose in life.

Oh, the factory life!

So, it was surprising when we realized, God was calling us to the end of that season. It was time to unplug and connect with the Holy Spirit. He was doing something new in our hearts. So, the next “forty days” would belong to Him. We took a couple of weeks to decompress before heading out west. Like my husband said, “any time you move into something new in your life, it often  means complete surrender of everything that has brought you to where you are.” We had no idea what these “forty days” would look like. Would it look like Jesus being cast into the wilderness after his baptism and just before he was tempted by Satan? Would it be a fun adventurous vacation? Would we just be wandering around like the Israelites?

 

 We needed to do a sort of mental dump.  Pray and seek God before we headed out. Even that time in preparation didn’t go as we thought. I’ve learned when it comes to following Holy Spirit, it will rarely lead you the way you think you’re going to go.

 

We spent our first day camping with our oldest daughter. Just for one night but getting outside seemed like the right thing to do. Getting out in nature, enjoying our grandkids, and just beginning to live in the moment. One of many lessons I’m continuing to grasp from this “forty-day” journey God put us on. Trying to be intentional each day and grabbing ahold of His Word, the first word I came across while camping and beginning our time to unplug was this:

“Arise, shine; For your light has come! And the glory of the Lord is risen upon you. For behold, the darkness shall cover the earth, and deep darkness the people But the Lord will arise over you, and His glory will be seen upon you.” Isaiah 60:1-2 NKJV

 

No matter how dark the world gets, it is our mission to make sure His glory shines through us, causing the dark to retreat.

 

The peacefulness of day one was not met the same on day two. We felt exhausted mentally, physically, and spiritually. Sleep didn’t come for me so easily. My mind refused to calm down. I had thoughts of our uncertain future and apprehension began to seep in as my mind raced. But God:

 

“Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” Romans 5:5 NKJV

 

“And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:18 NKJV

 

I wasn’t doing a very good job at holding on to the words the Holy Spirit continued to speak over me. Just days into our “forty days,” I had an attitude that didn’t line up with the position God had placed me in. A position of peace and freedom. I was a bit self-centered and overly critical of myself and sometimes others.

 

All that changed once I was engaged in worship at church our first Sunday. Oh, the battle I was facing right before The Great Adventure as I began to call our upcoming trip kept my mind off of what God was trying to do in my heart and mind. We took these two weeks off to decompress before we left but within the first week, we gained a grandson, quit our jobs, blessed a young couple we’ve been pouring into, move into their new home, went camping, attended a much-needed church service, and blessed one of our daughters with a beautiful simple wedding. It was anything but time to decompress. It was full of busyness.

Our hearts were full of anticipation and excitement mixed with a dose of restlessness towards the path set before us. Sometimes you just have to let go of everything; all your thoughts, worries, control, and desires to follow after the Lord. Whenever you let go, you make room for blessings. It is still taking me time to process and unpack the lessons God began teaching us even before we officially unplugged and hit the road. I saw early on the battle between rest and restlessness; between abiding and striving.

 

“If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you.” John 15:7 NKJV

 

Still, how often do we get caught up or used to living in the constant swirling mess of busyness, chaos, and drama of our lives or even watching it in the lives of others that it becomes the norm? Then, when a breakthrough or a moment of blessings comes our way, we are blinded to it and unable to live in that moment, no matter how big or small. When we don’t let it soak in or acknowledge it we’re unable to show gratitude for it. Showing gratitude is important! Hearts and minds that are cluttered with busyness and worry about the “next thing” cause us to forget the importance of being grateful.

 

I am so grateful for the life my husband and I have together and for the life, we are now stepping into. Being grateful helps us to step into new places following after Jesus’ lead and live in the moment.

 

“Do not long for ‘the good ol days.’ This is not wise.” Ecclesiastes 7:10 NLT

 

Being grateful brings joy to our hearts.

 

“When the Lord brought back his exiles to Jerusalem, it was like a dream! We were filled with laughter, and we sang for them, “Yes the Lord has done amazing things for us!” “What joy!” Psalm 126:1-3

 

I have let go of everything a few times in my life to start life over again. Now my husband and I are together at a place where we are letting go to chase after the Holy Spirit. There are parts of us that don’t always line up with God’s idea of whom we are called to be. HE will continue to reshape and make us through the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit draws us closer to Him as we give up our own thoughts and desires.

 

“in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” 1 Thessalonians 5:18

 

In the process of preparing for our Great Adventure God had already begun a work in me and I believe wanted me to use the time on the road to reflect on the truths, HE has been revealing to me.

One of those truths is, that I focus too much on the lack of gratitude and follow-through I see in others. Focusing on how others are living only leads to resentment. Is that how God sees me? I may just be a hypocrite. I need to focus on what God is doing in my life. He may be working in ways I don’t see in others, allowing Grace to move in and through me.

All I can do and have control over is, to give HIM access to ALL of me.  I asked Jesus to remove the burden of my heavy yoke of judgment, worry, strife, and criticism and put on the yoke of Jesus. I know as I remove my yoke and take on His, He will lead and work alongside me. He said:

“For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:30

 

Still before we hit the road, my heart was rocked harder than expected as my sister’s birthday approached. It was her second birthday since her death. It caught me a little off guard but reminded me why God called us out. One reason is to line up with His purpose for our lives. I have spent a lot of time reflecting on the life of my sister, the purpose she had, and the impact her death had on my life.

 

Her death led to a greater desire to push to write the book God has put in my heart. It is real, raw, completely honest, and transparent about my life and the experiences I have come through and been strengthened by. It is the very thing that will reach those who are overlooked, misunderstood, lost, and afraid as I believe my sister was much of her life. As we all have been from time to time.

Since her death I have felt pushed to be a better me, to love people where they are at, and not where I think they should be. Also, push to hold others accountable and not to settle for just okay. Push forward into God’s calling and don’t look back.

Be like Elisha in 1 Kings 19 and bun the plow, leave nothing to fall back on, just in case, following after God doesn’t work out. Jesus said,

 And another also said, “Lord, I will follow You, but let me first go and bid them farewell who are at my house. ”But Jesus said to him, “No one, having put his hand to the plow, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.” Luke 9:61-62


In the two weeks leading up to The Great Adventure, my husband, Tim seemed to have a better time at decompressing, acclimating to a different sleep schedule, and getting into a new rhythm. I was plagued with sleepless nights and revelations about myself I wasn’t so sure I liked. I was beginning to wonder how necessary these “forty days” were. Honestly, I was looking forward to hitting the road, for adventure, a change of scenery, for all the noise to be out of my head.

 

For those actually following along and are interested to know,  God was showing me so much, even in the uncomfortable spaces:

 

  • Make sure His Glory shines through us causing the dark to retreat.
  • God’s love has been poured out on us and He shall supply our needs.
  • Let go of control. I don’t get to hold the road map or control the speed. All I really get to see is a glimpse of the destination.
  • Live in the moment.
  • Being grateful brings joy to our hearts.
  • Let go of the burden of the heavy yoke of judgment, worry, strife, and criticism, and put on the yoke of Jesus.
  • Push yourself to keep moving forward. Write the book, push toward your calling like Elisha and l burn the plow!

To be continued…