The contrast of the ever changing landscape and names given to such beauty often boggle my mind. On to Devil’s Tower in Wyoming! It was so much bigger than I thought it was. Another example of beauty in Creation. No spaceships landed though. To think, magma pushed up out of the ground created such a land formation. However, scientists are still not sure about how it was created. Native American tribes have oral histories all similar to each other as to how the formation appeared. There are also those who believe it is a giant tree and if you study it enough and read others’ opinions about their tree theory, you can see how they have come to that conclusion. Isn’t that like God to keep us guessing and searching for answers? Reading the sad history as to why it is called Devil’s Tower shouldn’t take away the amazing fact that no matter what explanation there is for this formation only The Creator God could devise such a thought-provoking sacred place. It’s totally worth researching!

“For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse,” Romans 1:20 NKJV

Leaving Devil’s Tower, we came to Keyhole State Park to rest by peaceful waters on the Keyhole Reservoir to reflect on what we’ve experienced so far, it’s just what we needed. We had found places to stay just as needed. Often it was the last place we’d ever think of, but each place felt picked out just for us.

“The voice of the Lord is over the waters; The God of glory thunders; The Lord is over many waters.” Psalms 29:3 NKJV

Yellowstone wasn’t even considered on the route we were taking. First, we thought it was too touristy. Then we heard it flooded, so it just wasn’t part of the plan. However, we held our plans very loosely and found ourselves camping on the edge of the National Park at a small, out of the way, campground where we spoke for quite a while with the ranger/camp host about the park and his experience during the recent major flood that closed the park down for a time and still some areas remained closed. He also shared about his time spent as a park ranger, his time in the military serving in Viet Nam, about his wife, and about how he too used to live in Indiana for a time. It is amazing how people are so willing to just open up and begin sharing their life story with you.

 

The following day entering the Yellowstone National Park, there was no line to enter! Again, God never ceased to amaze us with His favor. The astonishing beauty seen in the tall cascading waterfalls, predictable guiser of Old Faithful, and the ominous deep boiling hot springs and bubbling sulfuric mud pots was overwhelming. Of course, there were more more buffalo! Majesty in the middle of so much potential chaos and destruction. Everyone in the area is aware of the possible danger of, not if, but when the massive volcano that covers the area could erupt again and the affect it could have on the whole world. Science can’t save you from that!

The wonders of Yellowstone

We spent the next night in Idaho in an area called Craters of the Moon. Everywhere you look, you feel like you are on another planet surrounded by giant boulders of black, rough, porous, lava rock. All of these rocks were spewed out at one time from the extinct volcanoes in the area called splatter cones and inferno cones. It was in this place I first began to feel the peace of the trip settle in over me. It was incredible to see that this place was created by such violent destruction of nearby extinct volcanos, the first of many we got to explore on our trip. There was beauty in the desolation! Especially in the occasional yellow flowers I’d find growing out of the rocky ground. There’s an example of determination!

The contrast to everything we have ever seen was just so other, unlike any place, I had ever been to. The night sky was so very clear you could see what looked like spinning wheels of galaxies. It was here I had my first night of good rest and woke up to another incredible sunrise.

 

“Through the Lord’s mercies, we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23 NKJV

 

The vastness of our county and the ever-changing landscape leaves me in awe of creation. It’s a struggle to just be in the moment. I wanted to pick up my camera every couple of seconds to take another picture. I’m overwhelmed by everything I have seen. I continued to take so many pictures for fear of forgetting each moment. There’s just so much! It’s hard to believe anyone in our country should complain about crowded cities and lack of resources. The Pioneering Spirit is gone. Everyone wants to stay in their huddled tight masses. Isn’t that one reason why God destroyed the Tower of Babel? Doesn’t God want His people to get out there and explore and use what He has created and gifted to them?

 

 

Coming into the parched land of Oregon that has spent some time in a drought, you can see where fires have started due to lightning. Trees have been burnt down and the land scorched. Yet, there is still beauty to be found there as well. The trees and brush that have been burnt create richer soil where new trees, plants, and bushes can grow and will be stronger than those before. Even in the destruction of fire God reminds me of how He continues to work in my life and the lives of so many others.

 

“To console those who mourn in Zion, To give them beauty for ashes, The oil of joy for mourning, The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; That they may be called trees of righteousness, The planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.” Isaiah 61:3

 

Sometimes, or rarely, I’m so awestruck I forget to take a picture! Mostly, God is telling me to put down the camera and just be in the moment. A lesson I’m not doing well grasping. Traveling into Oregon we are able to see and explore another area with  a volcano. This volcano created Crater Lake.

Beauty created from a volcano!

I continue to be amazed by how much of the northwest is covered in potential destruction, including volcanos that are not extinct. This particular sleeping volcano created Crater Lake by the collapse of its tall peak when it last erupted over 7,000 years ago.  It is the deepest lake in the country and one of the most pristine in the world. Inside the crater is another volcano they call Wizard Island. Again, God creating beauty out of destruction. God never stops creating beauty out of the mess that happens in the world and in our lives!

 

Life is unpredictable, our vaccines and all the science that has been created to preserve life won’t help against the natural destruction that can happen at any moment; Whether or not it is from a volcano, earthquake, tornado, hurricane, tsunami, flood, or fire. Society has created a false sense of control to make us feel safe.  Medicines, gadgets, gages, and environmental regulations created by government’s top scientists may extend life, but is the quality of life improved? Are we living life to its fullest or just existing? While society is in a rush to preserve everything in their own power, out of fear, is anyone looking to God for provision?

 

“And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” 2 Corinthians 9:8 ASV

 

While my husband and I were out on our own in Klamath Falls Oregon, where we had been visiting cousins; On this particular day we felt it was our turn to pay them back for all of the blessing and hospitality they had shown us.

 It was our last night of extended stay. We hadn’t planned on staying so long. However, God had other plans and this whole trip is all about yielding to HIM. We felt ministered to and we were also given the chance to minister to others.

I refer to the next part of our trip as the Dragonflies and Jesus Experience. Here we were, in search of ingredients to make Tim’s amazing pizzas. On our way to the grocery store, we stopped off at a Mexican restaurant to have lunch. While at the restaurant, we talked about this adventure we were on and what God has been saying to us. I mentioned how I was still struggling to live in the moment and hear God’s prompting. We also discussed the possibilities in ministry and prayed for wisdom, guidance, and ability to see opportunities to serve Him.

Upon leaving the restaurant and getting into the truck, two women walking through the parking lot with a bag of cans and plastic bottles came to the truck window. They weren’t asking for any money or any other type of help, just if we had any cans or plastic bottles. They were collecting them to turn them in for cash. Our first response was to tell them no and to move on. We really brushed them off. Only thinking how we had to get to the grocery store.

 As the women walked away, God instantly convicted our heart. What we’re we just discussing in the restaurant? An opportunity to minister! There it was literally knocking on the truck door!!

After pulling away, Tim and I both, at the same time decided we should give them the water and soda from our cooler we’ve been carrying around with us. It wasn’t much but with the temps in the mid 90s at least the water would help out.

We pulled back around to the other side of the parking lot where the women were walking, got out of the truck and handed them the drinks. We asked their names and started a conversation with them. We’ll call them “MJ” and “Charlie.” They are traveling with Charlie‘s son who was  sitting a way off under a tree with their dogs.

MJ wore tore up overalls and carried a rather large knife in her right hip pocket. Charlie wore a pair Carhartt pants, layers of shirts and a scarf around her neck. The excess clothing protecting  them from the elements they find themselves in.

They are both from Arkansas and jumped trains to get where they wanted to go.  Once, they ended up in Mexico after traveling further than they expected. Upon realizing nothing looked right and that they had gone too far, frightened, MJ “found a way to convince” the conductor to let them stay on the train until they got back in the US. Their dream is to have a horse ranch in Montana.

They look for cans and other recyclables to exchange for money. That’s how we met them; asking us if we had any. Since roaming the streets across the country, they have done odd jobs. One woman even hired MJ and Charlie to do some landscaping. They’ve done a variety of other things trying to make money along the way. Charlie, noticing my dragonfly neckless, exclaimed that she liked my dragonfly and that she had a dragonfly tattoo on her foot. I showed her I had one on my foot too!

Strangely, I felt compelled to give away my necklace. Taking it off and holding the dragonfly out in my hand showing Charlie; I explained why I liked dragonflies:

“See here?” I said, pointing to the dragonfly.  Dragonflies are sort of in the shape of a cross. That reminds me of Jesus. Dragonflies start out as little nymphs living in the dark, murky, muddy, waters, where nobody sees them. Just as we all are at some time in our lives. I know, I have been there. As they gain their wings they rise above the water and their iridescent wings reflect the light of the sun. Just as we are to be reflecting the light of the The Son, Jesus Christ. Dragonflies stay close to the water which is their source of life. Jesus says that He is living water. He is the source of  our life. The Bible says,

““but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.” John 4:14 NKJV

So, when I see dragonflies, I said, “I think of Jesus and what He has done for my life. He pulled me out of a murky dark place and protects and provides for me.” I told them how, “dragonflies also remind me to stay close to the living water and to reflect His light in the world.”

I noticed, MJ intently looking at me as I explained all of this which prompted me to hand her my favorite dragonfly necklace. As I did, she took it and placed it around Charlie’s neck. So, I proceeded to give MJ my dragonfly earrings as well. They shared them, each having one in an ear.

 I wanted to ask how they became homeless but every time I thought I’d attempt the question; the opportunity was lost. I suppose the why doesn’t matter. The fact is that these women were broken and lost. They were trying to find a way out of the area and back east. Obviously, they lived through some harsh experiences that brought them to this place.

Tim and I asked if we could pray a prayer of protection and blessing over them after sharing a little more about Jesus. We also asked if they would like to ask Jesus to come into their lives, and to follow Him as He protects them on their journeys. And they did! They accepted Jesus right there in the parking lot.

I told them how they have a heavenly father who loves them, watches over them wherever they go and no matter how hard it gets. They are princess of a heavenly king and to never forget that. The continuances on both their faces since we had met them had changed. MJ said Charlie often calls her princess. Charlie said every time she sees dragonflies she’ll think of me. I told her not to think of me but to think of this time and place. To think of Jesus and to remember Whose child they were.

“And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” 2 Corinthians 9:8 ASV

Our hearts for this group traveling through the country was overwhelmed by the love of Jesus!! Tim felt compelled to give them all the cash in his wallet and the soup peanut butter we had in our camp kitchen. I asked if we could take a picture so that I could remember them and pray over them when I saw their pictures, they agreed. Then Tim wanted a picture too! We hugged them, blessed them and went our own ways.

Daughters of The King

 

God wasn’t done with us yet. These women reminded me of my sister, which reminded me of my dad. While we’ve been staying with cousins, we’re also in the same city where my dad who is in a post-acute rehab/hospice facility. I’ve wrestled with the thought of seeing him. Is it out of obligation or is God prompting? I didn’t feel prompted. I just had that false guilt settle in on me. I said what I had to say last time I was here and he wasn’t very coherent the whole time. It was a gut wrenching but a healing experience. I had closure and didn’t expect him to live much longer. He has declined so much more since then.  I didn’t think it would do any good for either of us to see each other again.

Plum creek post-acute rehab/hospice facility sits in a hill looking over Klamath Lake, where Tim and I did sit in the parking lot of the center to pray over him and all that were residing there. We then rolled down the windows blaring “The Goodness of God.” BLARING WORSHIP MUSIC as we drove through and around the parking lot, with windows rolled down, we had a few people looking on, but worshiping is the best way to go out.

I pray my dad would be free from the heavy chains of this earth and be released into the love of Jesus.

“… I love You, Lord

For Your mercy never fails me

All my days, I’ve been held in Your hands

From the moment that I wake up

Until I lay my head

Oh, I will sing of the goodness of God

… And all my life You have been faithful

And all my life You have been so, so good

With every breath that I am able

Oh, I will sing of the goodness of God.” -Bethel Music

After strengthening family bonds leaving my cousins’, we headed to Eugene to meet with Tim’s nephew and family he had never met. It was another part of our adventure that brought healing to broken hearts. We visited in his home for a while where he shared bits and pieces of his life with his beautiful wife and precious new daughter before going to a local restaurant to share a meal and conversation. Something about sharing a meal with others, seems to bring out deeper conversations and enjoyment of company. There’s a reason why communion with fellow believers is so important, and communion with future believers. New special bonds were created in that moment!

Leaving Eugene, we drove south along the Oregon coast on our way to find the Redwoods of Northern California. Stopping along the way to get a better look at the ocean and the rock formations, we had to get out and explore. Taking my shoes off to go barefoot in the sand and water, and to climb a huge rocky hill that stood alone along the shore was a great way to take a small break from the road and have another up close encounter with the beauty of God.

 

Reaching the Redwoods and exploring a section of the National Forrest, God continued to show of His majesty and magnificence. We are truly small and seemingly insignificant, compared to these trees, so big you could walk around inside some of them. Still, Jesus chose to love, die, and provide for us above all else! That has got to humble a person when that revelation sinks a little deeper.

We may seem so small compared to these trees, but Jesus still sees us!

After visiting the Redwoods which was our end goal, it was time to make our return trip home. Surprisingly, we didn’t give much thought to planning that leg of our trip. After narrowly escaping the drive through five forest fires held back from jumping to the next ridge on the other side of us, by the Trinity River, (the metaphor was not lost on us: “Saved from the flames by the Trinity”) we spent the night in a small hotel room in a town shrouded in smoke before continuing on. There was a definite theme we had been seeing along our travels: Mercy, grace, provision, favor, and love, was continually lavished upon us.

The Trinity kept us safe from the flames.

Leaving the smoke behind, we spent our next two consecutive nights completely boondockong it in the middle of nowhere. The first night was at a remote campground just outside Reno and Carson along a small river with Pelicans. No other people were around just another quite space for us, isolated, allowing time to reflect on all that God was showing us, and slow dance in the brightest moonlight. The next night we found ourselves in a remote area in the middle of Great Basin camping about ten miles from any main road, along the dried up snake creek. Oh, so many cool rocks there. It was hard to restrain myself and my obsession with collecting!

 

These two short stays gave us time to reflect and ask ourselves, “ If we give a testimony about our trip what would it be about?” Tim said, “Letting go, the ability to step into what God was doing, and to be content in relying on God for provision.” I agreed, that really sums up most of what we had been experiencing. Something we will have to hang on to through the rest of our lives. Intentionally letting go to step into what God is doing and staying content with His provisions.

 

Utah! An unexpected beauty beyond anything else we had seen so far. The rock formations. The ability to camp in the middle of nowhere and watch a thunder and lightning storm, from mikes away, cross the valley and never make its way to us and our tent.  Funny, how each new day we would exclaim to each other, “This is the best day so far!” It was true, God was showing us something new and beautiful every single day. Every day was full of His favor and grace. Every time we needed a place to camp, we had one, every time we needed a place to park, we found one, easily. Lines to get into National Parks were short to non-existent. It was incredible!

On our return trip we were able to have another unexpected stop in Ouray, Colorado (considered the Swiss Alps of the United States) where my aunt and uncle from Southern California happened to be staying. We were blessed to have a time of fellowship, ministering to each other, and to go on an amazing Jeep Ride with true mountain top experiences 14000 feet tall, that enabled my husband to get over his fear of heights.

Continuing on, we stopped in Kansas at the Wizard of Oz museum. The Wizard of Oz movie and story line holds such a special place in my childhood memories and heart, we couldn’t miss it. Spending time there brought back a lot of good memories and thoughts of the journey and amazing things we experienced, while having a feeling that there is no place like home, either in the reign we currently live and serve or our home with Jesus. (Funny cool thing: once we were home there was a showing of the Wizard of Oz in a restored 1920s movie theater. Of course we went to see!)

Surely, we couldn’t pass through Kansas with out stopping at the Evel Kenevil museum where we saw the risks taken in life, of a man who had no  guarantee of the outcome or that he would even live through it. Yet, his determination to keep getting up and going was astounding: even after breaking nearly every bone in his body! He risked everything with out even having a relationship with Jesus until near the end of his life. Imagine what he could have accomplished had he yielded to Jesus early on. However, God knew when the right timing would be. He was patient with him and gave him every opportunity to say yes to Him before allowing his life to come to an end.

I returned and saw under the sun that— The race is not to the swift, Nor the battle to the strong, Nor bread to the wise, Nor riches to men of understanding, Nor favor to men of skill; But time and chance happen to them all.” Ecclesiastes 9:11 NKJV

 

As we got closer to home the feeling of something like dread and depression was washing over me. Thoughts about what we were going to do next, how we’re going to make a living, what life was going to look like began to weigh heavy on me. The thoughts and image of the witch who wrote in the sky in OZ, “Surrender Dorothy” came to mind. After all we have experienced and all God has shown us, how can I surrender to the fear of the unknown? If God called us to this journey in life, surely He will provide a way, just like he did all through our pilgrimage.

 

 I just wasn’t ready to come down the mountain. My husband said to me, “You can have a mountain top experience but you can’t stay there, you have to keep traveling. You have to move through the valleys. That’s where God meets us.” We experienced Grace, Love, and Favor all through our journey and mountain top experiences. God’s not going to just stop providing in our life now that we are home. God’s Kingdom/home is wherever He is allowed to rule and reign. When we give Him rule and reign over our lives that is where He will stay and we will be forever with Him by our side.

 

“ “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.” Psalms 23:4, 6 NKJV

 

We consider the region we live in as home and we were ready to come home. We felt it calling us, even with all the uncertainty. Now it’s time to put into practice the things we learned along the way and share it with others.

 

My hope and future reside in letting go, the ability to step into what God was doing, and to be content in relying on God for provision. He is the one who directs my path. I don’t get to hold the road map or control the speed. I just get a small glimpse of the destination.It is up to me to keep moving forward even in the valleys.

Forty Days Part 3 Trust in the Lord

““Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV